Business/Career Relationships that don’t WORK

High Priestess Card from Goddess Knowledge CardsLast week my blog post was about the High Priestess card reminding me of the Divine Spark within myself and urging you to see that
You are the Divine represented in the world, You are a Spark of Divine Fire!

In being reminded of this, it caused me to reflect on a business relationship which for the last two months has been causing me a great deal of distress. The High Priestess card reminded me that I DESERVE BETTER and I don’t need the money if with it comes negativity that causes me distress and in turn ill health. So I frankly spoke with the person involved and set boundaries on our relationship, boundaries based on mutual respect. I agreed to continue the business relationship provided the person’s behavior changed, which it did. However, if it should revert, I made a personal decision that at that point I would end the business relationship. Sometimes what starts out positive can take a turn for the worse and no matter who you are, even the highly intuitive and psychic, can let the pressure of paying the bills override your own intuition and good sense. What’s important is recognizing it and doing something about it.

Man's foot on another man's headAre you in a negative business/career relationship?
Does someone not value you or see your worth?
Is someone convincing you that you need them to make money or survive?


DON’T LISTEN TO THEM! LISTEN TO YOURSELF.

“Oh, you are a cruel tyrant. I can’t talk to you: you turn everything against me: I’m always in the wrong. But you know very well all the time that you’re nothing but a bully.” Spoken by the protagonist Eliza Doolittle from George Bernard Shaw’s play Pygmalion

YOU HAVE VALUE!

“Oh, when I think of myself crawling under your feet and being trampled on and called names, when all the time I had only to lift up my finger to be as good as you, I could just kick myself.” Spoken by the protagonist Eliza Doolittle from George Bernard Shaw’s play Pygmalion

RESPECT YOURSELF!

“Yes: you turn round and make up to me now that I’m not afraid of you, and can do without you.” Spoken by the protagonist Eliza Doolittle from George Bernard Shaw’s play Pygmalion

Listen to this song “Without You” from the musical My Fair Lady which is based on George Bernard Shaw’s play Pygmalion. As much as I love this musical, I don’t agree with the ending. They should have kept the original ending from the play where after she’s spoken her mind, Eliza Doolittle leaves Henry Higgins for good. This should’ve been the final scene:

Lyrics:

Eliza (talking):
Aha that’s done you in ‘enry ‘iggins, it ‘as.
Now I don’t care that (snaps her fingers) for your bullying and your big talk

Eliza (singing):
What a fool I was! What a dominated fool!
To think you were the earth and sky,
What a fool I was! What an addle-pated fool!
What a mutton-headed dolt was I!
No, my reverberating friend,
You are not the beginning and the end!

Professor Higgins (speaking):
You impudent hussy! There isn’t an idea in your head or a word in your mouth that I haven’t put there.

Eliza (singing):
There’ll be spring ev’ry year without you. England still will be here without you.
There’ll be fruit on the tree,
And a shore by the sea;
There’ll be crumpets and tea
Without you.

Art and music will thrive without you.
Somehow Keats will survive without you.
And there still will be rain
On that plain down in Spain,
Even that will remain
Without you.
I can do
Without you.

You, dear friend, who talk so well,
You can go to… Hertford, Hereford and Hampshire!

They can still rule the land without you.
Windsor Castle will stand without you.
And without much ado
We can all muddle through
Without you!

Professor Higgins (talking):
You brazen hussy!

Eliza (singing):
Without pulling it, the tide comes in,
Without your twirling it, the Earth can spin.
Without your pushing them, the clouds roll by.
If they can do without you, ducky, so can I!

I shall not feel alone without you.
I can stand on my own without you.
So go back in your shell,
I can do bloody well
Without…

Professor Higgins (singing) interrupts:
By George, I really did it!
I did it! I did it!
I said I’d make a woman
and indeed I did!
I knew that I could do it!
I knew it! I knew it!
I said I’d make a woman
And succeed I did!

Professor Higgins (speaking)
Eliza, you’re magnificent! Five minutes ago you were a millstone around my neck. Now you’re a tower of strength, a consort battleship! I like you like this!

Eliza (speaking):
Good-bye, Professor Higgins. I shall not be seeing you again. (She goes.)


Lyrics by Alan Jay Lerner and music by Frederick Loewe

About spiritualspectra

Spiritual Spectra is a spiritual and holistic healing practice offering an array of services that increase wellness through the mind-body-spirit connection.
This entry was posted in Our Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

